The Still Image in Digital Culture

Questions:
1. Do you already have a digital camera? If so what kind? Are you planning on using it for class or are you planning on getting another one?
Yes, I do have a digital camera. I shoot with a Canon 5d Mark II and I also shoot with a Canon s90. I plan on using the Canon s90 for this class. It fits in my pocket and I never leave home without it. Also a plus to this camera is people do not become intimidated when you stick it in their face, which can not be said with 100% confidence about the 5D Mark II. It is subtle and I enjoy shooting with the camera very much (it had me at RAW).

2. How much experience do you have with photography?
I have been taking photographs since I was about 15 years old. I loved it and nothing else came close to the excitement it brought me. Photography is such a unique process. I am a photography major at Arizona State and will graduate in two semesters. I would say that I have come along way thanks to my experience at ASU. I have been taught to think critically and analyze every little decision I make while taking a photograph. Light, f-stop, shutter speed, ISO, color of light, shadows, highlights, subject, foreground, background, the list literally never ends.  I did not know a thing about photography when I started (Auto, click, ooohhh guys look at this awesome picture of a flower I took!) But I can happily and confidently say that I have progressed since then and make work that is an expression of myself. I would not be here today with the understanding I have without my ASU peers and professors (and of course Understanding Photographs class!)

3. What made you interested in this class?
What made me interested in taking The Still Image in Digital Culture was that I might have a chance to further understand photography’s role in this modern world. Technology is an enormous part of our lives and its function in relationship to art has always been interesting to me. More specifically the still image because a single image can speak a thousand words. The truth of a photograph is never known by anyone other than the photographer who took it. Truth is irrelevant because everyone will see your photograph with their own eyes, subjectively, whether you want them to or not.


The first day of school- Fall 2011

Leave a Reply

